Theoretical Teaching

Theory courses

Science and art, cross-disciplinary

Whatever subjects students take at the Dresden Academy, they will receive a grounding in the relevant scientific theory, be it in art history, theatre studies or philosophy/aesthetics, or combined with practical implementation in the fields of architecture and spatial design or anatomy.

Regular teaching formats are complemented by professional input geared to specific specialist needs. This may take the form of lecture or discussion cycles addressing topical themes, such as the lecture series on “Interdisciplinary Anatomy” jointly organised by the HfBK and Dresden’s Technical University, where academics from different fields tackle fundamental questions around the human body. Apart from lectures, academic exercises and seminars, there are forms of teaching adapted to the specific nature of studying at art college, such as individual studio visits, group discussions on problems raised by students, and project-related work in studios.

The lectures and series devoted to art history, theatre studies and philosophy/aesthetics are public; they are regularly attended by extra-mural visitors and students at the TU Dresden.

The opportunities to pursue post-graduate research in academic disciplines at art colleges have permitted new ways to reflect the current networking between art and science. The Dresden Academy of Fine Arts has been using this as a springboard to develop more intense research and teaching. Working within and between their specialist areas, representatives of art history and philosophy/aesthetics have triangulated a field for post-graduate research that takes modern art history, art theory and philosophical aesthetics as cornerstones around a space to investigate cross-cutting issues in art and aesthetic theory today. This interdisciplinary approach to post-graduate study is addressing a contemporary focus for research and has built bridges between the HfBK in Dresden and diverse university locations elsewhere. The doors are open for higher education graduates to pursue doctoral research in all relevant disciplines.

 

 

 

Wochenplan Theoretische Lehre

Lehrangebote Theorie

Wissenschaft und Kunst, Theoretische Querschnittsfelder

Die für ein Studium aller Fächer der HfBK relevanten theoretisch-wissenschaftlichen Grundlagen werden in den Lehrgebieten Kunstgeschichte, Theaterwissenschaft und Philosophie/Ästhetik vermittelt sowie mit praktischen Umsetzungen verknüpft in den Lehrgebieten Architektur und übergreifende Raumgestaltung sowie Anatomie.

Spezielle Lehraufträge, die auf bestimmte fachliche Bedürfnisse ausgerichtet sind, ergänzen das reguläre Lehrangebot. Hierunter fallen auch Vortrags- und Diskussionsreihen zu aktuellen Themen wie z.B. die von der HfBK Dresden und der TU Dresden gemeinsam veranstaltete Vorlesungsreihe "Interdisziplinäre Anatomie", in der Wissenschaftler verschiedener Fachrichtungen grundlegende Fragen zum Thema Mensch erörtern. Neben den Vorlesungen, Übungen und Seminaren werden Lehrveranstaltungen durchgeführt, die der besonderen Studiensituation an einer Kunsthochschule Rechnung tragen, wie z.B. individuelle Atelierbesuche, Gruppengespräche zu studentischen Problemstellungen oder projektbezogene Atelierdiskussionen.

Die Vorlesungen und Vortragsveranstaltungen der Lehrgebiete Kunstgeschichte, Theaterwissenschaft und Philosophie/Ästhetik sind öffentlich; regelmäßig nehmen außeruniversitäre Hörer und Studierende der TU Dresden daran teil.

Mit der Promotionsmöglichkeit in den wissenschaftlichen Lehrgebieten an Kunsthochschulen eröffnen sich neue Möglichkeiten, die der aktuellen Vernetzung von Kunst und Wissenschaft Rechnung tragen. Die Hochschule für Bildende Künste Dresden intensiviert in diesem Rahmen die weitere Ausgestaltung von Forschung und Lehre. In und zwischen ihren Lehrgebieten haben die Vertreter der Lehrgebiete Kunstgeschichte und Philosophie/Ästhetik ein Promotionsgebiet abgesteckt, dessen Eckpunkte Kunstgeschichte der Moderne, Kunsttheorie und philosophische Ästhetik einen Reflexionsraum für die grenzüberschreitenden Fragestellungen heutiger Kunst und Ästhetiktheorie eröffnen. Das interdisziplinär angelegte Aufbau/ Graduiertenstudium betreut ein hochaktuelles Forschungsfeld und bildet den Brückenschlag zwischen der HfBK Dresden und verschiedenen universitären Studienstandorten. Das Promotionsstudium steht den Hochschulabsolventen einschlägiger Fachrichtungen offen.